Second Day in Bonn

I arrived yesterday in Bonn but Sunday is a free day wihtout negotiations. Hence, I visited the CAN meeting. The folks there are in large parts real freaks, knowing their subjekt very well and making policy behind the doors. I was deeply impressed and I am happy to have found people like me, that devote a large part of their time to climate policy. However, some seemed to be professionals, doing this on a job-basis and having interest for one or more organizations behind them. Could be good – doesn’t have to. I wills tay critical and have a look into it.

Now I am sitting in the back of the AWG-LCA meeting in Bonn (Hotel Maritim) and when I came in the Chinese delegation said it does not support a registry for NAMAs. Those National Appropriate Mitigation Actions should – according to the proposal – only be registered on a voluntary basis. Now Bolivia is speaking and thus I need to get up and get headphones since my Spanish is a little rusty. I come back to the blog later that day.

UPDATE: G77+China takes NAMAs only, when better linked to REAL progress in technology and financing.

UPDATE: The chair was just giving an email-adress where all Parties can send their proposals (in this case: for REDD+) until 9. Wow – I thought those people use only fancy paper and five copies, not something ordinary like eMail!🙂

UPDATE: G77 thinks deadline is too close for them to meet.

Further observation: most negotiaters read a speech from their MacBook.😛

Über GYGeorg

Global. Young. Green. Drei Eigenschaften von Georg, der lange u.a. bei den Global Young Greens (GYG) aktiv war und mittlerweile für den Kohleausstieg in Deutschland kämpft.

Veröffentlicht am Juni 8, 2009 in Climate Policy und mit getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

