Incidents in Asmara: The real-estate agent

Lately it happened to me that, while waiting for a friend to have some „injera“ together, a man approached me asking how I am, where I am from and if I need an apartment or House in Asmara. This happens several times a day and I have already figured that without the eye-contact (e.g. having sunglasses) people are less likely to talk to your (which is important to know for the occasions you are in a hurry to reach a bathroom or feel bad or whatever). But this time I was open to talk as my friend was not coming (see last Blog entry on having NO cell-phone in Asmara). He invited me for eating injera together and after having figured that I will have to either eat alone home or with wait until dawn on the road, I followed him inside the “Blue Nile” (formerly the Blue Bird, Asmara’s number one Restaurant with a long history of music, love and mainly food). He told me he is a real-estate agent and his friend – non English-speaking fellow who reminded me of the late James Brown – a lawyer: “two jobs that go good together.” We had a little chat about the houses in Asmara (the Art Deco which unfortunately is in strong decay due to a lack of funds) and since my lunch-break is only 45 Minutes and I was outside the corner of the city where my apartment and the embassy is, I took only a Coffee. More people joined the round and the whole lively room was so crowded as people ate their injera or Pizza that I became hungry. As I was leaving to catch some snack at home before going back to work (I really couldn’t wait until they prepare a whole injera since I spend most of my lunch-break waiting on the roadside) I got my wallet to pay. But the nice Eritreans invited me for the Coffee because I am a visitor of the country and this is just “how we do it here.” He gave me his card in case anybody of my friends needs a nice Italian-style Villa in Asmara and I promised to tell him if so. Anybody interested?

Über GYGeorg

Global. Young. Green. Drei Eigenschaften von Georg, der lange u.a. bei den Global Young Greens (GYG) aktiv war und mittlerweile für den Kohleausstieg in Deutschland kämpft.

Veröffentlicht am August 15, 2009 in Eritrea und mit getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

