Biking at noon in the Sahel zone

This does sound crazy. Well, it was a nice sunny Saturday. I got up and after reading some old flown-in German newspapers and having a good Eritrean coffee (black and sweet, very black, very sweet!) I jumped on this little rusty yet somehow usable bike of mine and headed off into the blue. well, the orange as this is the color of most houses. IAsmara_road climbed a hill and got to a beautiful church with some people sitting in the shade in front of it. They were not the usual sitting-on-the-side-of-the-street people which are usually women selling some kind of fruit in horrific numbers. They were just sitting there and checking out their ever-similar surrounding it seems. So here comes this long white dude with his fancy blue sunglasses on a bike. I didn’t greet them which is worth mentioning because normally I do greet people. Mostly because they approach me saying „hi“, „how are you“ or „dehandoo“ (how are you in tigrinya). Mostly, though, it’s the children who are crazy about this kind of having contact with foreigners. small boys around 4 are the „worst“. they forget everything it seems just to waive. in Germany I would feel as if peopleprotectingpeace are making fun out of me but here they mean it (well, about 99% of them). I know this because sometimes it comes to longer talks. many people are able to speak english – especially the young. Making a picture of a nice church here in town, some kids surrounded me and greeted and greeted and greeted me. I talked with them about Asmara, the church and shared some of my German Haribo-sweets with them. This was really nice. Nicer than the traffic. Taking not into account that I was almost run over today by a bus that was full with about 1 million people (it was one of those small busses), it is this dust! The cars are emitting more dirt than Moorburg-coal power station in Hamburg ever will I suspect. If I am overtaken by a bus (not a nice yellow Taxi, they’re alright) it feels as if I am about to die in a black cloud.

Über GYGeorg

Global. Young. Green. Drei Eigenschaften von Georg, der lange u.a. bei den Global Young Greens (GYG) aktiv war und mittlerweile für den Kohleausstieg in Deutschland kämpft.

Veröffentlicht am August 20, 2009 in Eritrea und mit getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

