A smile can make your day

I had to renew my Visa and it took me a while. The cliche about the bureaucracy in Africa seemed right. (Well, applying for a job in Germany if your a not white and deutsch is probably alsoreally hard!) So I was kind of pizzd with the situation as I had to pay more and my Visa is still not long enough. Then I was going to a coffee place to have – a coffee! I had one. Nice. A friend dropped by saying hi (yes, you meet people you know all the time in Asmara, despite us having about 100 coffee-places here). I was then looking out of the window and looked at people, some smiled back.

And this is what made my day and what is „saving“ most days. It might rain, it might be cold (or me having a cold). There might be no water (like today), no electricity (like many days) or no internet (like on the office-free weekends). You might be forgotten by people who wanted to have dinner with you or just got lost in Asmara with nobody being able to read a map – but everybody having an opinion where X or Y is, usually very different ones from one another.

A smile can make your day. So I bought a poster and hung it in my apartment where I am reading or writing Univ.-Papers. So every day is an Eritrea-day. Smile!🙂

Beni Amer Boy from one of the nine ethnic groups in ERI.

Beni Amer Boy from one of the nine ethnic groups in ERI.

Über GYGeorg

Global. Young. Green. Drei Eigenschaften von Georg, der lange u.a. bei den Global Young Greens (GYG) aktiv war und mittlerweile für den Kohleausstieg in Deutschland kämpft.

Veröffentlicht am August 22, 2009 in Eritrea und mit getaggt. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

