A bike tour outside of the gates of Asmara

bikemitInga7bikemitInga9Sometimes, little wonders happen. So it did recently. It was another weekend and while the other expatriats where curing their hungovers form the night before I used this free time (Mon.-Fr. I am working from 7.30am-5pm, then university-papers!) to get on the old bike and discover places. This time I came to the check point where the cars on the way to Massawa, Ghinda and Nefasit were waiting. Slowly I approached. I said that it would be nice if I could just make a click-click (photo) from some hundret meters further down the road as the mountain-view is better there. The poor police-man probably didn’t understand but a nice police-woman was nodding and off I went.

bikemitInga5

bikemitInga10I was going downhill and stopped after a little bit and got off the bike and the road into a cactus field. some people there were picking cactus-fruits with self-made devices and showed me how it worked. The plants really were not to touch under any circumstances. Nasty stuff! I had to carry my bike downhill through the fields to get back on the road (supposedly a shortcut…) and ended up in a nice bar where I had a cold Asmara Beer!🙂

bikemitInga6The weekend after, I took a friend of mine with me and we discovered the road together even further downhill (and up, uff!). We met nice individuals on the way and had a „chai“(tea) together. Really a nice sunday!

Über GYGeorg

Global. Young. Green. Drei Eigenschaften von Georg, der lange u.a. bei den Global Young Greens (GYG) aktiv war und mittlerweile für den Kohleausstieg in Deutschland kämpft.

Veröffentlicht am September 24, 2009, in Eritrea, Revolution. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink. Hinterlasse einen Kommentar.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

